top of page

Raja Yoga and Its Therapeutic Benefits: How to Attain Nirvana

Raja ‘meaning king’ is a symbol of independence, self-discipline, and confidence. Interestingly, ‘Raja Yoga’ is a practice of attaining autonomy and self-realization. From a historical perspective, ‘Raja Yoga’ is a dialogue written in the second chapter of ‘Shaiva’ yoga text and dates back to the 12th century CE or earlier.

Raja yoga is a holistic exercise of 8 steps, and it is also known as Ashtanga yoga for eight elements or limbs, which are:

  1. Yama (Self-control)

  2. Niyama (Discipline)

  3. Asana (Physical exercises)

  4. Pranayama (Breathing exercises)

  5. Pratyahara (Freeing senses from external objects)

  6. Dharana (Concentration)

  7. Dhyana (Meditation)

  8. Samadhi (Absorption)

The eight steps of Raja Yoga are meant to guide us to attain inner clarity, peace, and self-realisation. We at Green Yoga Me can provide you with a wholesome experience of Raja Yoga, as we incorporate those steps during your practice.

Book a free 15-minute consulation with us and learn how you can tailor your yoga experience with us today.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page